Post-LASIK Op Recollection… and a bit on Local Politics

Hey hey all!

It’s been a while since my last post, more than a month actually! That’s partly because I was trying to keep my computer usage time to the lowest possible as I needed a month or so to expedite the recovery process from the LASIK surgery I had last month.

As most of my pre-LASIK was usually spent in front of the computer, that meant I had to make sacrifices a bit so that I can recover better. Regardless, I still had work to be done so I can only spend most time on the Net to do my research for articles and writing… no playing games, no reading blogs unless it is part of my work… no useless websurfing… Well, as much as I want to gripe about it but in the words of my mom “You can play with your Internet all you want, but don’t come crying to me when your eyesight deteriorate again!” So for the sake of my precious eyes, I had to lay off the computer as much as possible.

Besides laying off the computer, there are other sacrifices to be made too. One month no strenuous exercises and sports, no swimming, no sauna, no smoking, no going to smoky places, stay out of bright sunlight, no rubbing the eyes, no washing hair except at the hair salon where you can sit on a recliner for the washer to do it, no washing face with soap or other facial cleanser and these are just what the doctor advised. Adding to these restrictions are my mom’s own restrictions on my diet… I can only take food that are good for eyes and avoid heaty food as well as food that may cause my eyes to itch. That meant drink lotsa fresh milk, oolong tea, eat lotsa fish, veggie and fruits while avoiding prawns, cuttlefish, beef, pork, peanuts, coffee, eggs and other stuff which my mom thinks I should not eat. Oh, lets not forget dietary supplements too! I had to pop a couple of Eyebright pills as well as cod liver oil too!

Can’t wait to free myself from these activity and dietary restrictions… Just ONE more week to go!

The LASIK procedure itself wasn’t as scary as I had thoughtit would be. Although it did kinda freak me out a little when I saw a bit of smoke rising from my eyes as the laser did its work on my eyes. It only took the doctor 10 to 15 minutes to work on each eye. They first strap me on the bed, numb my eyes with special eye drops, pry open my eyes with a tool that keeps my eye open and then, the procedure starts. Rather than doing an incision on my eyes manually like I thought, the incision to remove the cornea flaps were actually done with a machine. So, I don’t have to worry about seeing the doctor armed with a mini scalpel approaching my eyes. That would be totally SCARY!

There wasn’t any pain at all when the incision was made. I just felt a little pressure as the machine pressed down on my eyes a bit. After the incision was made, the doc would lift the flap and blast my eyes with the laser. I did imagined what happened if the laser was left on a little longer than usual…let’s just say that with the smoke rising from my eyes, the laser would’ve probably burned right through my eyeball! LOL! Thank god that didn’t happen!

Once the laser did its work on one eye, the doc closes back the flap and more special eye drops were administered to me. That’s why I can’t rub my eyes or do tough exercises or swim… I certainly don’t want the flap to come undone an expose my eyeballs to the harsh elements… That’d be a major OUCH event!

The same is repeated on the other eye and after about 25 to 35 mins spent on the operating chair/table/bed whateveryacallit, I was walking out. I can’t see clearly at all instantaneously of course, my vision would be cloudy and my eyes would still be numb. The doc then gave me two types of medicated eyedrops which is to be administered every four hours and two eye shields which I must wear every time I sleep at night. The eye shields… gosh, I so hate wearing them! It’s rather uncomfortable, you know! The shield was to protect my eyes so that I don’t rub it or bumped it when I toss and turn in my sleep.

So far, my eyes have healed great I think, although they tend to get tired quite easily and are still quite dry. No major problems, so it’s been good.

A lot have happened in over a month or so, personal wise and also country wise. I didn’t blog much about politics… there’s so much I wanted to say that I didn’t where to start. All I can say is that I’m happy and quite glad that the elections in my country has turned out well. The people I voted for got in and the old government in my state has been shown the door. It’ll take a while for the new government to settle but am really looking forward to better days to come.

While I’m disappointed with the in-fighting among parties and have no patience for it, I wantto remind ALL appointed MPs and state assemblymen that it is the PEOPLE that should take prcedent first over their political parties. We’re the ones that voted for you, though your respective parties are the ones that let you contest, WE are the ones that let you won! We’re watching your moves VERY closely, and if you foul up in the next four/five years, you can be sure to bid “bye bye” to your posts!

A new dawn has come upon Malaysia. I urge everyone to work together in harmony and in unity to ensure this country is the best in the region! It’s not impossible… we just have to set aside our differences and get rid of old policies that no longer have any place in this time and age. Get working and get cracking, yeah!

  1. Hooray! So happy to hear you are recovering well. Sacrifices eh? I feel your pain, dude…but you’ll get no sympathy from me regarding the smokes. You’ll be better off without them IMHO, health-wise, AND financially.

    I’ve been anxiously awaiting to hear about your experience with the procedure, as I’m considering a corrective surgery myself. Just waiting to get enough cash saved up for a deposit and qualify for financing the balance. Hmm, if I miss a payment, do they repossess my eyes?? :O

    Wishing you a continued painless recovery,
    Sora.

    “One flash….of light….yeah, one God, one vision.”
    –Queen

  2. Hi Phillipp, hope you have a speedy recovery. Liberated from specs – how nice!

  3. Do you know the difference between Lasik, Lasek, PRK? If not, you should read the information on this website. It can help you to discuss with your eye doctor about which type of laser eye surgery may be best for you.

  4. Thank you for best article and If you want to know information about LASIK procedure, laser eye surgery complications, cost, alternatives, online directory of Laser Eye Surgeons that connects prospective patients with a surgeon in their local area. Go to lasikeyesurgeryfaq.com

  5. my mom is an eye doctor and she always tell me to never squint my eyes and watch too much dvd movie’-;

  1. 1 Post-LASIK Op Recollection… and a bit on Local Politics

    […] Continue Reading […]




Leave a Reply

