Birthday Blues

It’s understandable that when you reach a certain age, mostly by your mid-40s or so, birthdays will lose its shine and will be just like any other day to you.

But it definitely and should not be the case when one is in their mid-20s!!!

So damnit, why do I feel not like celebrating my 24th birthday this Wednesday, 29 November 2006?? I am certainly not really looking forward to celebrating a day which reminds me that I’m another year older, another year of missed chances and wasted opportunities. I can certainly empathise with Garfield the Cat who loathes birthdays…oh sure, when you’re a kid, birthdays are grand things and an event to look forward too every year, but as your mind develops and you grow older with each passing year, you’ll come to realise that birthdays are just too overrated and overhyped.

I’m only 24 and I am already moaning and griping about my birthday as if I’m an old dude. ‘Tis sad…

Quit griping, I hear you readers say, you’re feeling this way just because no one celebrates your birthday. You may be quite correct, dear reader, in suggesting that I’m bitching about birthdays here just to attract some sympathy for poor old me who doesn’t have that many friends to share his joyous day with. Yeah, I know it’s pathetic, makes me hate birthdays all the more, though it has never been this way all the time.

What went wrong? *Shrugs*Beats me! Maybe when one is all grown up, you can’t expect to celebrate birthdays anymore – birthdays are for the under-20s and the above 50s and 60s. The rest of us in the middle simply dreads it. 

Anyhow, this year will be just like the past years – a quiet, lonely affair – except that this year will be an even more quieter and lonelier affair now that it’s just me and my mom. Friends and my sisters are all too busy with their work and studies and are living in other places far away from me. I can’t expect them to remember my birthday or just tell them “Hey, it’s my birthday. Sing for me!” The rest of my extended family (uncles, aunts, cousins) have better things to do than to celebrate the birthday of a guy whose not even blood-related to them anyways. Our relationship hasn’t been all that warm and friendly, even though I try to be sometimes.

Anyways, in all my past 23 birthdays so far, I only have a few that is really memorable and which I cherished dearly. You can count them in one hand – only four which I can remember clearly and very vividly. I have one that was most embarrassing too, so that’ll make five birthdays that were a standout. They were my 11th, 12th, 17th, 19th and my 21st birthdays. I wish I could recount them here on my blog, but the first three which I mentioned are too personal for me to recount and the fourth was rather embarrassing.

So that leaves me with just my 21st birthday, which happened not so long ago and not really special since it’s a church celebration. Some people mark this special occassion by doing grand, foolish things like getting laid, getting drunk and all that…but I do not have that privilege thanks to very strict, traditional parents who would not hesitate to kick me out of the house on my birthday if i did such “sinful” things.

So poor old me had a nice, little, warm celebration in the church after service as my birthday then fell on a Sunday. Mom brought a cake and other aunties and uncles had brought home-cooked stuff for a very nice and pleasant lunch celebration and fellowship. My youth group did not forget me too, as they surprised me with a nice card and some nice hand-made gifts (Hand-made gifts are always the best as it shows how much effort and love someone has put into making it for you.).

As for this year, well my birthday wish…and Christmas too…would be:

> To bridge the gap between my cousins in Penang and Kuala Lumpur and re-establish family ties.

> To make the effort to remember and celebrate the birthdays of my sisters, nephews, niece, friends, relatives, acquaintances and most importantly, that of my enemies (of course, I do this in the hope that they WILL remember mine too! :-D)

> To seize the day and grab opportunities by the scruff of the neck to do things which I love most – writing, photography, travelling, social work and activism.

> To earnestly hope that the political bigwigs of this country finally acquire some sense, logic and intelligence to do what’s right instead of sweeping bad things under the carpet and lambasting mat sallehs for criticising the country in their media.

> And of course,  world peace! Global prosperity instead of poverty! No more religionophobia (fear of anything that has to do with religions)! Haha!

> And maybe Senator Hillary Clinton for Prez!

All together now:-

Happy birthday to me!

Happy Birthday to me!

Happy Birthday to The Eternal Wanderer!!!

Happy Birthday to me!

Blergh! >.<


  1. Oh Philip, I fear the hard shell of adulthood is setting upon you. I understand the ‘what’s-the-point’ feeling you have of birthdays, for I had the same feeling about my own, just a reminder of the day I “..escaped from that ovarian Bastille..” as Stewie Griffin might put it, and maybe a way to weasel a free dessert from your favorite restaurant (it’s having to put up with their stupid birthday chant I can’t stand). A few years ago, though, I realized that in the early years, the birthday celebration was more for the parents than the children themselves, for it was the day they were blessed with a child. Unfortunately, as the years go by, more importance is placed on the “milestone” birthdays, sweet 16, 21, etc.

    So what do you do on your day? Be. Live. Enjoy. It looks like you have the day planned out already with activities, use those to make the day special to you..visit a new place, eat at a new restaurant (and get that free dessert😉 ), try some wild activity you’ve always promised you’d try ‘someday’, whatever it takes to make ‘unforgetable’ a fitting description on Nov. 29, 2006.

    “…you’re feeling this way just because no one celebrates *your* birthday.” Au contraire, mon ami. *I* celebrate your birthday, for that is the day my best, albeit long-distance, internet friend was born. Why, if it weren’t for you, i might not have discovered HxH, or learned about 1 Utama, or durians (I’m a bit leery concerning those, however). Also, you’re mother will remember, I’m sure…cherish that, and be sure she knows how much you do cherish it.

    Remember, the happiness of your birthday will be up to you, but I will try to enhance that happiness; keep an eye on your email box Wednesday.

  2. i relate to this post because i really hate it when my birthday’s coming. i hate it because nobody ever remembers my birth date except family. so i just stop telling people when it is. i know i’m being a bit neurotic here – if i want people to know my birth date i should tell them shouldn’t i?

    i just feel very wary because i take knowing someone’s birth date as quite personal. so until i get over myself i shall only receive half-hearted cards from relatives and ang pow from parents.

  3. You. Me. The CF Gang (if I can pull them out).

    Dinner. Or rather supper, since I have a event to attend to.

    Kapeesh?

  4. Sora: No words can describe how much your words had soothed my feelings, Sora. You’ve spoken more to me than anyone could ever have. And it meant so much more to me that it had come from someone from such a diverse background living on the other side of the world. Thank you so much, dear friend, never a day goes by without me wondering when (or where, rather) on Earth will we ever finally meet! I’ll definitely be looking into my inbox for the surprise! *BIG HUGS*

    Sulz: Birthdays, birthdays, birthdays…whoever thought it was such a good idea to celebrate one’s birthday needs to be put in detention for life! Only one sister and my mom in family that remembers my birthday. None of the rest ever bothered to SMS, or call or send an e-card or e-mail…so much for family huh? *BIG HUGS* to you too, Sulz, it sounds like you need it!🙂

    Naoko-chan: Arigato, imouto-chan! Supper would definitelybe nice because my mom and I are going for dinner…just the two of us. I was thinking of coming down to Lot 10 too to have lunch with you, since I’m planning to spend the afternoon taking pictures at Petaling Street. Let me know again when your lunchtime is. Arigato once more, imouto-chan, love you to bits too! *BIG HUGS”

  5. Edseverripit

    Birthdays tend to lose their magic after a while *sigh* and plus the fact that some people don’t make it to the venue😦 waaa!

  6. Totally agree with you there, Edseverripit!




Leave a Reply

