A Moment of Reflection – On Writing

Been meaning to write, but work and classes has taken a toll on me – the past couple of days was really taxing. Hence, my short-term hiatus. Been doing that quite frequently…not posting on my blog, I mean. I felt extremely guilty.

Well, I’m back posting something. I don’t know what this post will be ‘cos I don’t really have anything on my mind right now which I would like to address. Perhaps it’ll come as I continue to type meaningless drivel here. So, be patient with me, alright? Good? I’m charmed!

It’s September already. Time sure whizzes by fast, it seems to me like it was just January not to long ago. But yes, we’re already into the final quarter of the year – and I couldn’t help wonder what exactly have I achieved in this year alone.

For one thing, I’ve learnt a lot about writing, that’s for sure!

Taking the step to join Bibliobibuli‘s creative writing class has been the best decision that I’ve ever made in my entire life. Sure, I’ve been writing for half a year before I joined the class but I’ve yet to really understand what writing is all about and what it means to me to write. Her class changed me, make realised that there’s nothing I love more than to write stories and express myself in words. Conjuring characters in my mind and fleshing them out in words – there’s no feeling that’s as awesome as the feeling you get when you read the words of your story to others…and to hear people talking about your story.

Writing makes me feel good about myself. It’s not about trying to fulfill some egotistical desire to see my name on a book on a shelf – it’s about living. I live to write. It’s that simple. I LIVE TO WRITE. Writing is a part of who I am. I wouldn’t want it any other way. I feel alive like I am right now when I write. I felt lifeless at times when I don’t pick up a pen to write in my notebook or sit in front of my computer and type out a story or something. I just feel so empty. I write to sustain my soul, my spirit. My life. I write to because it makes me feel complete, make me feel that I’m immortalising a part of me for the future world.

Whether or not I’ll actually come out with a book or not, it doesn’t matter to me. I’m happy and content as long as I am still able to write. I’ve learnt long ago never to underestimate the power of the written word. It’s a powerful tool that can bring tremendous impact to people’s lives. People always say “Action speaks louder than words”. I say otherwise – “Words inspire action.” You can take everything away from me, but for the life of God, don’t ever take my pen/pencil and notebook away from me!




    Leave a Reply

