Jack Canfield’s Seminars

Whew…it's been a whirlwind of a week for me. Immediately after returning from my vacation in Genting yesterday, I went to attend the Jack Canfield The Success Principles Youth Seminar and today, I also spent the whole day at the seminar as well, learning the powerful methods employed by Canfield to help people become successful in their everyday lives.

I must say that I had benefited quite greatly from these seminars and they have given me information that will be of great help to me when I undertake my major in Counselling next year. There are so many great things I'd like to share about what Jack Canfield had taught and revealed to us during the two sessions. All his ideas, methods and tools are all contained in his bestselling book The Success Principles: How to get from where you are to where you want to be.

One thing is for sure, having attended his seminars and spoken to him in person, I have a great deal of admiration for guy and his incredibly simple and workable success principles. Many are actually very common sense, but yet, we don't see that because we normally don't notice the things that are so obvious to us. It could be because we either chose not to see it or we really didn't know that it's there.

Regardless, I am very, very well aware now. I am very, very pumped up to follow some of his success principles that will motivate me towards success. I will keep on dreaming, hoping and think positively about my future. Everyone and anyone have the potential to succeed – and that includes me. So, here I am with a vision to become a respected journalist-author-counsellor-social worker-lecturer by the time I turn 40 years of age. Jack Canfield has made me realise that my dreams are not stupid, are not crazy and not impossible to achieve as long as I set my heart, thoughts and strengths to strive for that reality.

Therefore, I will carry out some of the powerful tools that he had told us and will comtinue to do so until it has become apart of my everyday habit. Some of these tools include:

  • Writing down 101 Goals (or more) I want to achieve before I die.
  • Live my life as if I have already achieved my dream of becoming a respected journalist-author-counsellor-social worker-lecturer. That means I should start cultivating habits and put into motion actions that will help me get nearer to that dream.
  • I will definitely be taking 100% responsibility for my own life. I must refrain from blaming, complaining, grumbling and moaning about everything should I fail because no one is in charge of my own life but me. So, I will not blame God, blame my parents, blame my friends, blame my lecturers, blame my country's government for my lack of success.
  • I will learn to smile more and to think positive thoughts, plus sleep for a maximum of 8 hours.
  • Spend 30 minutes every morning after I wake up and every night before I sleep to imagine and picture myself as a successful person who has achieved all my goals. This will train my brain into putting into motion actions that will help me get nearer to my goals.

That's about it. There's only so much that he could do for us all. But one thing's for sure, Jack Canfield has certainly impacted my life and will be one of the many people that I will draw inspiration from. I am very fortunate to have gone to his seminars, despite my initial reservations about spending the whole day at a seminar listening to a talk. It's a blessing indeed!

Oh, special mention to the organisers for putting together this seminar and getting Jack Canfield to come to Malaysia. Hopefully, he'll come back for a follow up next year!

Me with the Success Coach, Jack Canfield at the Youth Seminar on Wednesday evening, June 7, 2006

  1. glad you found it useful – i liked the book and some of the lessons i think have stuck – especially that 30 days to form good habits

  2. Yup, Sharon! I am also embarking on the 30-days to form good habits program now. I want to cultivate as much good habits as I possibly could.

  3. About the 101 Things to do: You might be interested in Mission 101, which all stemmed from a project by Triplux. The idea is to make a list of 101 things to do (and they have to be specific and measurable, so not “Change the world” but perhaps “Volunteer more hours per week”) in 1001 days. You have a deadline, but it’s wide enough to be managable.

    (sorry if this is double-posted. typed the link wrong!)

  4. That’s really cool, Tiara! Everything done in 1001 days…wow! But my I want list (see it at the ‘PAGES’ area) is actually long term stuff with some short term in it too. I will however, do most of it within the said 1001 days, definitely going to give it a try to see how many I could I manage to do.

  5. All the best to ya, dude! Keep believeing you can! And don’t be so laid back and play ‘games’ all the time, k? Hehehe!

  1. 1 The Reflections of The Eternal Wanderer 2006 in Reflection, Part 1 «

    […] A few things have contributed to my  personal development this year – participating in the Jack Canfield seminar early in the year, attending a couple of seminars and forums organised by UNITAR, the privilege of having exceptional lecturers for my Bachelor of Education course and not to forget, signing up for a creative writing class organised by Bibliobibuli. The latter was the most fun seminar/workshop I’ve ever participated in. I’ve also enjoyed the Jack Canfield seminar a lot, he was such a fantastic, successful person and his success principles really do work! He has opened up my mind to believe that I can do the impossible as long as I remained positive, optimistic and work hard at it. […]




Leave a Reply

