Sex Education of our young people is imperative!

I read this news item in The Star, which I archived it here on my blog, with a mixture of shock, horror and dismay. Shock and horror that the 18-year-old Singaporean boy, who is an excellent student, chose to take his own life over something that is as trivial as the size of his own genitals. Dismay – because this is an example of how misinformed our young people can be when it comes to issues regarding sex and their body parts. Dismay, because such a tragic incident could have been prevented.

You may think that the boy was already crazy enough to take his own life over the siz of his penis, but the size of one's penis has everything to do about the honour and pride of the males. Stupid as it may sounds, size matters to a lot of men and boys. A lot of men are insecure and shameful when their partner commented their manhood to be 'little' or 'small' and something like this will trouble them and may even lead to depression. These people do not know that as long as it works, size doesn't matter.

Indeed, even when I was a boy on the brink of puberty, I was rather aware of the sizes of my male counterparts and due to exposure of certain illegal printed material smuggled into school by my naughty peers, I was horrified to see the sizes of the appendage hanging between these gweilos legs. Never had I imagined that the size of one's penis could seemingly grow to as long as my 15cm long ruler, possibly even longer.

I became fixated for a time about my own penis. I was so worried when I noticed that even when I was horny, the length and size of it could not be compared to the Western men. I began to think whether I was having a 'problem' and begin to pay attention to my male peers in the pool and tried to sneak peeks at them in the toilets and changing rooms.

It was not until I was 16 that my fears of my dismal size was allayed – thanks to the Internet. I came across some information regarding male impotency and sex performance of males in relation to size of their genitals and it was proven that size did not affect the sex performance of males or the quantity of sperm at all! There was also an added information that said men in Asia tend to be of average size (between 4.5inches to 5.5inches) compared to men in other parts of the world. These information I got on my own through research on the Internet, no one had ever talked to me about sex and that size of our penis ought to be the least of my worries.

Instead, from being shameful and insecure about the size of my penis, I began to be worried about something more real and dangerous – testicular cancer, and that some men as young as 18 and 19 could have testicular cancer without them knowing it. Again, no one informed me about this and I was left clueless. I did not know how to check or detect signs of testicular cancer and it was again the Internet that was the source of my enlightenment. I just knew that I could not approach any of my peers or the adults because they will either scold me for being 'dirty minded' in thinking about my penis or punish me for asking stupid things.

This climate of sexual taboo is largely prevalent today as well, especially in Asia. This boy's suicide over the size of his appendage is evidence enough that we are in critical need of a proper sexual education curriculum that will dispel the many myths and misinformation regarding sex. Empowering the young about sex does not mean giving them the green-light to act irresponsibly but to prepare them and equip them with the right knowledge about sex and spare them the embarrassment that might be caused due to false information.

Would you rather have a standard sex education curriculum taught on all levels in schools or would you rather have the Internet educate these young people? It is imperative that we start sex education as soon as possible and as young as possible so that incidences such as the 18-year-old Singaporean boy will not happen again!

  1. Americans finally realize the try-before-you-buy works just as well with sex as it does with commodities. Rather than marrying and then shacking up with hot sex coming after the nuptuals, Americans are increasingly putting out before putting on the wedding rings.Women are just as likely as men to get it on before matrimony.
    I think this is just the sign of the times. I mean, we like to test things, try them out, before making a purchase. Why should sex and marriage be any different? The stigma associated with pre-marital sex is dead. Long live free love!

  2. PeteMoylan

    Your post is just feel-good nonsense. All the education in the world wasn’t going to make his penis size any bigger. The only hope for guys is scientific breakthroughs.

    • Russell

      I totally agree. As someone who has contemplated the same course of action, I can tell you that in this case education
      would not be nearly as convincing as the cold hard truth that guys cursed with “the ultimate shortcoming” are doomed to a life of loneliness, sexual frustration and in severe cases, suicide.




Leave a Reply

