Exercise!!

That's the order of the day from our Health Ministry.

The Star's front page story for today was a trumpeting call from our Health Minister, Datuk Dr Chua Soi Lek, to change our lifestyle to one that is much healthier in order to check lifestyle diseases. We are encouraged to exercise, one of the ways we could keep diseases such as diabetes and heart attacks down. According to the Minister, there's only two out of every 10 Malaysians who exercise regularly to keep fit.

Unfortunately, I am one of the eight out of 10 who don't.

Well, I do… occassionaly… but not as regular as I would like to. After all, I'm not exactly leading an unhealthy lifestyle…save for binge eating (Oh food, glorious food! I live to eat, eat AND eat!) …even that doesn't make me fat. I wouldn't be exactly the kind of person you'll call fat because thankfully, I blessed with a lean figure that maintains its leanness no matter how much I eat in a day. ^_^ So obesity and diabetes should not be a problem. Hopefully.

Still, that's not a good reason to skip exercise. For me…hehehe…it's down to just plain laziness. I just don't exercise as much as I used to – just not willing to sacrifice precious time that makes me feel tired after that.

Indeed, in my teens, the first thing I do every morning when I wake up is to do 10 to 20 push ups, 10 to 20 sit ups and jog on the spot for 5 minutes – add it up and my exercise time was a measly 10 minutes… more than enough I say.

But not anymore…some how, along the years down the road…there's no motivation for me to exercise anymore. I consider myself quite healthy in fact, so there's no need for any regular exercise. Even my fitness check up came out A-okay…even though its been 2 years since I had one.

I don't have much of a life really, much less a lifestyle…which consists of nothing but rotting my butt away in front of the comp, surfing the Internet, doing research for my articles, typing stories and blogging. The only exercise I ever do now is walking back and forths from the TV in the living room to the computer in my room as I go back and forth between watching TV and working on the comp…with an occassional detour to the kitchen to fix myself with a little snack or two…sometimes three if dearest mom doesn't want her share.😀

With all that I had to do in a day, where on Earth can I find the time to squeeze in minutes of exercise. I don't think I need to allocate 20 minutes to exercise one short…I can spread it evenly over a certain amount of period in a day. ^_^ It's simple really. It takes me about five minutes to walk from my room, out my condo unit, take the stairs one floor down to the mailbox and go back up again. I spend quite a lot of minutes a day travelling from my PC to the TV, working up a sweat along the way. If that's not exercise, I don't know what is!

Tackle lifestyle diseases, you say, Dr Chua? Well, not a problem! Smoking is history for me, I'm now 100% adverse to nicotine, tar and tobacco. Ditto to second hand smoke, which I try to avoid like a plague. Drinking…well…I don't drink as much as I used to – unless I go to clubs on assignments and to attend functions. Even then, I don't drink till I go woozy in the head…well, not always anyways. I pride myself in having quite a high tolerance towards alcohol so that I don't make a fool out of myself.

Drugs…ha, don't even go there. Ever since I took an Ecstasy pill in my Form 5 days I totally gave it all a miss…. Seriously man, YOU do not want to know what it's like after downing that seriously UGH! tablet.

So yeah…I see myself pushing past 70 in the future to come, God willing AND if I'm willing to live that long a life. Heck, of course I do…who doesn't want to live past 100?

Exercise? Nope, not me. Got all the exercise I need in a day! You wanna pull a muscle? Sprain an ankle? That's all fine and dandy, just don't rope me into it.




    Leave a Reply

