Everything’s in Full Gear…

Yep, it’s definitely confirmed that the brand new online magazine that I am working for for the past month will go online as scheduled this 1 April 2006. I can’t hardly wait for it as it was delayed for a couple of weeks but now that it’s definitely on, I can rest easy now and just concentrate on the work that I have to do. So check back at this blog to find out all about this brand new online magazine that promises to be a breath of fresh air for KL people (and also everyone else in the world) to find out about the latest happenings in town.

I would be handling three main sections – movies, TV and technology – which means I have to learn a lot more things and stretch my writing prowess to maintain that “freshness” of the online magazine. A lot of work, but at least I am having lots of fun doing this and get paid enough to keep my mom and I by each month. That’s the most important thing.

Still, this enterprise will offer me a considerable amount of flexible time to allow me to channel my efforts and services elsewhere. To be more specific, I hope I would be able to spare some time for volunteerism and social work, something which I have been itching to do.

And besides that, I would also like to continue producing more creative works such as poems, haikus, short stories and maybe a novel or two. Must continue to hone my writing and expand my horizons…and to do that, I must learn to open up my creatie eye and appreciate my surroundings. After all, if I want to become Malaysia’s William Blake or Robert Frost, I must continue to read up and practice the skills and technique in producing various written forms. Gee, I wonder why I had not taken up English Literature in my schooling days. Oh well, it’s never too late…can still attend as many creative writing workshops and most importantly…keep reading and writing!

I can’t believe how everything is falling into place when just a week ago, I had been grovelling and moaning about the direction of my life. I don’t think I will ever understand how this things work…one day you feel like the whole world is against you, and the next…it’s going smoothly the way you dreamt about. Or maybe I was just too blind to see the straight and narrow path paved out right in front of me…

I guess I have lots to be thankful for…after all, there could always be someone in a deeper rut than I am. The air has cleared up between me and my mom when I stressed to her that this is what I always wanted to do, that I am an adult now and I want to follow my passions, instead of doing things that I have absolutely zero interest in. My mom resigned herself to accept that her son is pretty stubborn and all she could do now is pray that success will come my way in all the things that I do.

Indeed, this is the way I always wanted with my life. I would never, ever forgive myself if I ended up in a 9 to 5, office job. Maybe its safer and future is guaranteed, but what’s the challenge and adventure in that. I cannot sit still…I’m too energetic and restless for that. It’s like that with creative people, they can never sit still.

All I ever want is for people to understand me and the things that I do, to support me, rather than ridicule or criticize me. I may not be a professional nor do I earn big bucks, but success comes in so many different forms. Right now, I have all I ever wanted and you can’t get anymore successful than that.

With that, I just hope that all my friends and family will be there for me and wish me well and all the best.


  1. Sora

    Opening on April 1st, eh?? Indeed.šŸ˜‰

    So glad to see things are working out for you. Most of all, I’m happy to see that you and your mother have reached an understanding.

    I’ll be looking forward to your work in the online magazine; could give me insight into new products coming soon to the U.S.; seems like all the coolest gadgets come from your part of the world. Good luck with that! BTW, do you still keep your other blog updated??

  2. Yeah, April 1st indeed! Not kidding!šŸ˜€

    Thanks, it hasn’t been easy you know, trying to convince her that doing what I am doing now is really the best there is for me and I am enjoying every minute of it. To her, the most important thing is that I get paid sufficiently to cover all my cost of living expenses.

    Hmm… what I will be focusing on would be mostly products available exclusively in this region. We don’t really bother about products that aren’t available here. No point reviewing something that we cn only get from the States.

    Regarding my other blogs… do you mean the Blogspot one or my other wordpress blog accessible only to certain parties only?

  3. Sora

    The wordpress one, the OTHER reflections of Philip.šŸ˜‰

  4. Ah… ok… well, I have not been very vigilant about that one as much as I would like about this one. After all, that one is totally secret and am not prepared to talk about it here yet.




Leave a Reply

