Skit Performance at The Curve

I was involved in a skit performance held at The Curve yesterday. I would’ve written about it yesterday but I was a little pooped to actually able to recall some of the things that had happened.

So, anyways, if you have been following my entries faithfully, you’d know that I was helping out with AWAM’s event yesterday, which was organised by Red.FM, one of Malaysia’s popular radio stations, in conjunction with International Women’s Day. The event was to celebrate all things women as well as creating awareness of women’s rights and some of the issues concerning women today.

Now, I was roped in to play one of the characters in this little skit that was written by one of the members of AWAM’s Writers for Women’s Rights Program. Btw, AWAM stands for All Women’s Action Society Malaysia and you can visit their website by clicking on the first link under the header “Malaysian NGOs” located on the right side of this page.

The skit revolves around three scenarios that most women today might face. One deals with the relationship of the traditional minded mother-in-law demanding her daughter-in-law to quit her job and start a family with her son. Another scenario depicts a father and daughter arguing over the young girl’s choice of study and occupation. The daughter wants to study engineering as she is good in it and she likes it very much. However, the father was not pleased and insists that her daughter takes up nursing because engineering is a man’s job and not suitable for women. The final scenario shows a young dating couple. The boy was touching the girl inappropriately and the girl stood up for herself, telling the boyfriend off, saying that it was wrong and that he should respect her right to say NO to his advances. The boy was not pleased at all, as he feels that the girl ought to do what he wants as he had spent a lot of money and gave her a lot of gifts.

Each of this scenario carries a message – that a woman should not be forced to conform to traditional roles that used to be expected of them. Times have changed, and women, like men, have equal rights to make a choice of whether to work, to start a family, to pursue their favourite career and preserving her purity. What men can do, women can do just as well, if not, even better. The film North Country shows women miners working alongside men, and they put in much more effort into their job compared to men. The underlying consensus that WWRP wants make here is that women have the freedom to make a choice and we should all respect their freedom and the choices that they make.

I play the father who wants her daughter to study nursing. It’s funny as I am 23 and the girl playing my daughter was 29 and had already married! We managed to pull it off though, thankfully, with me looking slightly old and haggard with my moustache and slight beard, plus lowering my voice a little to make myself sound old. My ‘daughter’ looked much, much younger than her 29 years and even though she only did her lines that morning itself, a mere few hours before the actual performance, we managed to make it look believable.

It was certainly a lot of fun. The crowd enjoyed our performance and despite the little time we had, we imporvised and managed to pull it all off. It was a great…no, more like superb effort on the part of everyone. Everyone was pleased with the outcome and though it went well, we just hoped that the audience got the message that we intended instead of otherwise.

After the performance, we adjourned for lunch, the whole bunch of us – 12 or 14 people – went to tuck ourselves in on the good food served at Vivo. It was my third time dining at the restaurant and it was still just as good as before. While having lunch, the group of us discussed various issues and even though some of us have just met, it felt like we’ve known one another for years.

One of my main reasons to be a part of this was so that I can expand my list of contacts and I was very glad that I got to know a whole lot of them, including the people from AWAM. I enjoyed myself in their company so much that I even promised one of them that I will participate in more future AWAM events. I also asked my friend, Tiara of EducateDeviate, whether guys can be a part of the WWRP, I hope I could be a part of it. Another reason was so that I could do my bit of volunteerism as I had been looking for opportunities where I can lend my services and experiences to the various NGOs. AWAM would be my first ever, and I hope can continue to work for more NGOs, specifically those related to the protection of children and children’s rights.

Meanwhile, I’ll continue with my day job, which is freelance writing. My sister is helping me to source out more assignments with various other people, as she had told my mom that there are quite a number of companies looking for writers for some assignments. Besides that, I’m going to be sending some of my previous works to another editor that also participated in the AWAM event.

As long as I put my effort into what I do best, the future looks bright enough for me. Because of my parents mollycoddling in the past (they never really believed in social work – they think it brings no monetary benefits), I had missed out on so much that I hope in the next few years, I will make up for lost time and lost experiences.

Wish me all the best!

  1. Yay! Glad you had fun.

    The thing with Malaysian NGOs is that everyone’s ultimately interconnected with each other, and they often do work together. I know men can be an Associate Member of women’s NGOs (at least AWAM and SIS, not sure about WAO). Or you could get involved with a gender-neutral one like Amnesty International or CIJ – which has tons of activities going on in KL.

    At the very least, keep an eye out for workshops or talks or volunteer opportunities – and just come by 🙂




Leave a Reply

