Oscar Night Predictions

Contrary to what most people think, I find that the Oscar’s are always full of excitement and never fails to get me all pumped up about it. For the last five years, ever since the TV stations here in Malaysia began showing live telecasts, I have been faithfully following every single show.

How could I call myself an ardent filmbuff if I do not zealously follow the cream of all awards shows in the film industry?? Seriously, i could not thank the NTV7 and 8TV who has been showing live telecasts for the last 5 years alternately. Truly, watching it from home, is as close as I can get to actually being there.

This year’s 78th Annual Academy Awards, or better known as the Oscar’s is no different. So by 7.30am tomorrow morning, I’ll be up and about and ready to sloth myself on the couch to catch the all the action on the red carpet as wel as the actual ceremony itself. I am very interested to see what new things would be brought into the show by debut host Jon Stewart and hopefully, he will bring some much needed spark and life into the ceremony.

I won’t have to say anything further about it, but I well definitely be liveblogging tomorrow beginning 7.30am. Until then, here’s my Oscar prediction list and once I’m done with it, I’m hitting the sack!

MY OSCAR PREDICTION LIST

Best Motion Picture of the YearBrokeback Mountain

Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading RolePhilip Seymour Hoffman for Capote

Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading RoleReese Witherspoon for Walk the Line

Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting RoleGeorge Clooney for Syrianna

Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting RoleAmy Adams for Junebug

Best Achievement in Directing – Ang Lee for Brokeback Mountain

Best Screenplay Written Directly for the ScreenGeorge Clooney and Grant Heslov for Good Night, and Good Luck

Best Screenplay based on Material Previously Produced or Published –  Dan Futterman for Capote

Best Achievement in Cinematography – Dion Beebe for Memoirs of a Geisha

Best Achievement in Editing – Michael Kahn for Munich

Best Achievement in Art Direction James Bissel and Jane Pascale for Good Night, and Good Luck

Best Achievement in Costume Design – Colleen Atwood for Memoirs of a Geisha

Best Achievement in Music, Original Score – Gustavo Santaolalla for Brokeback Mountain

Best Achievement in Music, Original Song – Dolly Parton (Travel’ Thru) for Transamerica

Best Achievement in Makeup – The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe

Best Achievement in Sound – Walk the Line

Best Achievement in Sound Editing – Memoirs of a Geisha

Best Achievement in Visual EffectsThe Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, The Witch & The Wardrobe

Best Animated Feature Film of the YearHayao Miyazaki for Howl’s Moving Castle

Best Foreign Language Film of the Year – Hany Abu-Assad for Paradise Now

Best Documentary Feature – The March of the Penguins

Well, so there you have it. My predictions for this year. Let’s see if it is as predictable as some say it would be. As you can see, though Brokeback Mountain has eight nominations, I tipped them to win only the top awards for the best film and best director as well as the original score.

Quite a variety this year, in my opinion. Especially in the acting categories. You’ll notice that I have decided to put my money on the first time nominees rather than those that already have a previous golden statuette on display in their homes.

Anyways, I predict that I will mostly, probably and maybe get at least 50% correct. So, if you’re interested for more Oscar stuff, head over to their website at Oscar.com Take their Oscar trivia and see how you score or if you’re curious about the history of the Oscars, have fun reading about it there as well. All in all, lots of pictures and information that will make you an instant expert in the Oscars!

Have fun!

  1. Watch Star Movies’ pre(preshow)show! Whatever Maya Karin is mainly my research. XD




Leave a Reply

