My nephew’s diagnosed with hand, foot & mouth disease

My 2nd sister called us this morning to inform us that my nephew, Joshua – 7 years old, was diagnosed with hand, foot and mouth disease that he had most likely caught it either from school or from the playground. Although the doctor said that he will be alright in 5 to 7 days, we all know how serious this kind of diseases is. My mom and I are pretty worried about my sister and her family, she is after all, a working mom. And whatismore, she still have a toddler at home.

At the moment, Joshua is quarantined at home and being 7 years old, this is perhaps one of the most serious disease he has ever got and I know that he is definitely not used to it. The doctor had told Joshua to take lots of rest and maintain a strict diet of healthy foods and take lots of fluids.

Please pray with us that my nephew will recover well and that the condition doesn’t deteriorate and hopefully he will be back on his feet in no time. ‘Tis such a terrible disease to inflict upon an active child…

About HFMD…sourced from Wikipedia – HFMD usually affects infants and children, and is quite common. It is moderately contagious and is spread through direct contact with the mucus or feces of an infected person. It typically occurs in small epidemics in nursery schools or kindergartens, usually during the summer months.

For more info on the disease –Hand, Foot & Mouth Disease on Wikipedia

  1. Sora

    I’m keeping a special thought for the little guy. I can sympathize; when I was nine I contracted something called herpangina (sp??). It’s some kind of viral infection in the throat, and it kept me out of school for two weeks. Solid food was out of the question; my throat hurt so much that meal replacement shakes were all I could ingest. The real fun part was going in for throat cultures every day of the two weeks. Trust me when I say I know the misery the poor lad must be going through.




Leave a Reply

