One of Don DeLillo’s Famous Quotes

“Writing is a form of personal freedom. It frees us from the mass identity we see in the making all around us. In the end, writers will write not to be outlaw heroes of some underculture but mainly to save themselves, to survive as individuals.” - Don DeLillo (1936 - present), American author

I could not have agreed more. When I write, I feel secure in the knowledge of being free to express my feelings, thoughts and ideas in intelligible words and not having to be burdened by the thought of having them unknown, unexpressed.

It's just like being free from constipation, forgive me for the crude comparison. But it's true. We all know how bad it feels to be constipated and the thought of being able to 'go' smoothly brings much relief.

Same thing with writing. I relief myself via writing. Seeing my thoughts form into words for people to read, know and discuss and criticise.

The one reason why writers write, is simply because we want to please and challenge ourselves. That's all there is to it, in my opinion. Making a living is secondary.

  1. Samster

    *WOOOT*!!!!

    Now, if I only can actually finish a project… 😛




Leave a Reply

